Facebook is a social networking site that allows you to building a network of contacts, sharing views, information, photos and videos. Despite many advantages, it also has disadvantages, so it’s worth knowing how to delete an account on FB.
Regardless of whether we use Facebook on a phone or laptop, knowing how to delete a Facebook account can prove useful. Therefore, it is good to be aware of the possibilities associated with deleting an account on FB, both temporarily and permanently. Below is a compilation of information on this matter.
How to permanently delete an account on FB?
In order to delete your Facebook account, you will need to log in to our profile. Then in the upper right corner we should find Settings & privacy. Then select Settings . We’ve taken the first few steps and we’re on our way to deleting our Facebook account.
Now we are looking for your Facebook information in the column on the left . Thanks to this, we got to the Deactivation and deletion option , which we can choose. One of the options that will appear will be Delete Account, so click on it. Then select Continue to account deletion, then Delete Account, enter our password and press Continue .
Before our FB account is permanently deleted, we still have some time to think. However, if we changed our mind and thus decided that we would like to cancel the process of deleting a Facebook account, it is possible, but it is time-limited.
How to cancel the deletion of an account on FB?
If 30 days have not passed since we started deleting our Facebook account, we have the opportunity to cancel the entire process. Just log in and select Cancel Deletion. The key to all this is not to exceed the 30 days mentioned a moment ago, because after this time the FB account will be permanently deleted.
Additionally, please note that deleting all posted content may take up to 90 days from initiating the Facebook account deletion process. If we are wondering what our friends may see at that time, the official instruction is that at that time the information we published will be unavailable to other Facebook users.
Interestingly, even if we decided to delete our FB account and 90 days have passed, a copy of our data may still be stored in the backup memory. It exists for possible data recovery in the event of a disaster, software error or other similar circumstances. In addition, Facebook may retain our data, if required by a legal situation, related, for example, to violations of the regulations.
How to delete an account on FB temporarily?
Facebook has become such an important part of many people’s lives that the mere thought of deleting an FB profile permanently can be scary. Therefore, there is a possibility of taking less radical action in the form of temporary deletion of the Facebook account. The official term is that it’s not so much a deletion as a deactivation.
How do I temporarily deactivate my Facebook account? The process is very similar to deleting an FB account permanently described above. First, find Settings & privacy, and then select Settings . In the column on the left, we are looking for your Facebook information, select the option Deactivation and deletion. One of the options that will appear to us will be Deactivate Accoun, which we click and then select Continue to Account Deactivation.
What does it mean that our Facebook account has been deactivated? This means that, for example, no one else can see our profile, but friends can still see our first and last name in their friends lists. Some messages we have sent to friends may still be visible. In addition, if we have set up any pages on FB and they are controlled solely by us, they will be deactivated. This can be avoided by transferring total control of the site to another person.
It is also important to know that if we do not turn off Messenger or log out after deactivating the account, Messenger will remain active and we will still be able to chat with friends through it.
How to reactivate an account on FB?
After we have deactivated the Facebook account, we can undertake its reactivation. By the way, it is worth noting that, unlike the situation related to the permanent deletion of the FB account, in the case of its temporary deactivation, we are not limited by any time frame, so you can simply reactivate at any time.
What should I do to reactivate my Facebook account? You must log in or use your Facebook account to log in elsewhere. The key in this situation will be having access to an e-mail address, or, for example, to the phone number that we use to log in. This is necessary for the successful re-activation of the FB account.
Is it worth deleting an account on FB?
Why is it not worth having Facebook? These types of questions will always be an individual matter in the end, and the decision to remove a profile from any social networking site should be well thought out.
Aversion to Facebook may result from fear of its harmful effects. Opponents of the service often mention potential dependence on social media, disinformation, promoting negative emotions, significant impact on the polarization of society, as well as privacy concerns.
Relatively new developments that cast Facebook in a bad light include statements from Frances Haugen , former Facebook manager. The whistleblower claims that Mark Zuckerberg ‘s social platform has a bad effect on children’s health and fuels social divisions. It also emphasizes that Facebook hides information about the harmfulness of its own products.
On the other side of the spectrum, we have the fact that social media can be a work tool, a way to stay in touch with a large group of people, as well as a channel of access to interesting groups and websites. Is it worth it to delete a Facebook account? It is an entirely individual matter. The service has many advantages and disadvantages, and a lot depends on how we use it.