How to delete an Instagram account in 2022 (May) ?

Share on social media

Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms on the web. Despite this, many people may find that they would like to take a break from regularly posting and viewing photos, and are therefore wondering how to delete an Instagram account. We provide the answer in a few simple steps.

Regardless of whether we are wondering how to delete an Instagram account on the phone or on a computer, we will have to use a web browser (removing the main Instagram account via the mobile application is not possible). The key will be the ability to log in to your account to submit a removal request.

How do I delete an Instagram account I can’t access?

If you have any difficulties remembering your Instagram password, please refer to the official login tips. If we do not remember the password, it is always possible to reset it, for which you will need an e-mail, telephone number or Facebook account . In the password recovery process, you need to open the Instagram app first.

If you’re using an Android app , on the login screen, tap Get help logging in below Log in. Then enter your username, email or phone number, or use the Log in with Facebook option. Later, just tap Next and follow the on-screen instructions.

See also  Downloading YouTube videos on your computer is now working. How do I turn on the function?

If we are using the iOS application , on the login screen we should touch Forgot password, which is above the Log in option . Then select Username or Phone and provide the required information. Later, just touch Next .

How to permanently delete an Instagram account?

We start submitting the request for permanent account deletion by going to the Delete Your Account page in our browser: https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/

You will need to be logged in to your Instagram account. Later, we should choose one of the available answers to the question Why do you want to delete my account? (Why are you deleting your account?). You will need to re-enter our password. Finally, we will gain access to the option of using the option to permanently delete the Instagram account. It’s a big moment so when we feel we’re finally ready for it, we can just hit Delete [username].

Finally, it is worth noting that even after deleting your account, you can re-register using the same username or optionally add it to another account. However, it will be extremely important to meet one condition, namely, before that, no one else should take our name on Instagram.

The above only applies if we have deleted the Instagram account ourselves. If the said account is deleted for violating the community rules, then we may not be able to use the same username again.

See also  How to download music from YouTube? Try the 5 Best Methods [year] ([month])!

How to delete an affiliated Instagram account?

Some people wonder how to delete one Instagram account that is linked to one login. It all boils down to the fact that after deciding to set up a common login for several Instagram accounts, there is always the option of deleting one of them.

The process of deleting the account associated with the shared login can be started from the Instagram application. Regardless of whether you are using Android or iOS, touch your profile picture in the lower right corner and go to your profile. Then click the icon with three horizontal lines in the upper right corner and select Settings . Then, just touch Login info, then select the three dots icon next to the account you want to delete, and then touch Remove .

How to temporarily disable an Instagram account?

Not everyone is ready for such radical actions as permanent deletion of their Instagram account. If this type of activity scares us, you can always use the milder option of temporarily disabling your account. What will the consequences be? The profile will be hidden along with photos, likes and comments.

Temporarily disabling an Instagram account requires us to log in to the said account via a browser. Then we should click on our profile picture in the upper right corner, then go to Profile , and then to Edit Profile.

See also  How to download mp3 from YT in [year] ([month])? YouTube to MP3 converter

If we scroll down we will be able to click Temporarily disable my account in the lower right corner. You will need to mark one of the available answers next to the question Why are you deactivating your account? (Why are you disabling your account?) And re-entering our password. The last step is to press Temporarily Disable Account. On the other hand, to restore a temporarily disabled account, simply log in again.